Sasquatch Coffee

Archive for the “Reviews”

The Mothman Festival: Reviewed

Posted by: Nick Redfern on September 30th, 2014

“Last weekend I attended, and spoke at, the annual Mothman Festival in Point Pleasant, West Virginia. After no less than a 19-hour drive (with Cryptomundo’s Craig Woolheater), I got into town around 4.00 p.m., Friday afternoon.”

Read: The Mothman Festival: Reviewed »


The Road to Loch Ness Reviewed

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on September 25th, 2014

The last two years have been good for cryptozoology-themed fiction. We’ve had high-octane thrillers like Hawthorne’s Kronos Rising, atmospheric novels like Willis’ The Daedalus and the Deep, chillers like Below, a crypto subplot in a Dan Simmons epic, and the scariest crypto-thriller ever, Joseph Wallace’s superbly researched Endangered Species, just to name a few. The genre has never been healthier, in quantity or quality.

Read: The Road to Loch Ness Reviewed »


Pepie: The Lake Monster of the Mississippi River Reviewed

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on September 13th, 2014

Mention lake monsters and everyone immediately thinks of the Loch Ness Monster, or Nessie, depending on how familiar they are with the creature. However, lake monster stories and folklore can be found on almost every country on the planet, and the U.S. is no different. Here, in our own backyard, a strange creatures is rumored to inhabit the murky depths of Lake Pepin, the widest naturally occurring part of the Mississippi River.

Read: Pepie: The Lake Monster of the Mississippi River Reviewed »


Bigfoot Wars Review

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on September 5th, 2014

The DVD is available at Amazon.com.

Read: Bigfoot Wars Review »


Pepie The Lake Monster

Posted by: Nick Redfern on September 2nd, 2014

“I particularly enjoy books that are regional in nature, as they generally offer deep insight into a case that, without that personal, in-the-field approach, would probably remain buried in obscurity. And, I have to say, the Lewis-Voss book does not disappoint.”

Read: Pepie The Lake Monster »


Kronos Rising Reviewed

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on August 27th, 2014

…Kronos Rising delivers on the fun: it has plenty of plot twists, roller-coaster suspense, colorful characters, and action. On that score, I got my money’s worth.

Read: Kronos Rising Reviewed »


Cliff Barackman Reviews When Roger Met Patty

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on August 24th, 2014

munns

I just finished reading Bill Munn’s excellent book, “When Roger Met Patty.” It decisively proves the Patterson-Gimlin film was not and could not have been a hoax of any kind.

~ Cliff Barackman

Read: Cliff Barackman Reviews When Roger Met Patty »


“Willow Creek” Movie Review

Posted by: Lyle Blackburn on August 13th, 2014

Many folks have asked what I thought about Bobcat Goldthwait’s new Bigfoot movie, WILLOW CREEK. I was lucky enough to attend a screening with Bobcat himself and more recently view a screener of the released film. Rue Morgue magazine has kindly allowed me to reprint my review (which appeared in their July issue) for Cryptomundo.

Read: “Willow Creek” Movie Review »


Critical Examination of Standing/Sylvanic Bigfoot Videos

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on August 12th, 2014

falcpol1

Preface: Applying reasoned examination based on their respective fields of expertise, Phil Poling (formally trained in photography and with a twenty year law enforcement background) and Daniel Falconer (seventeen year working for special effects company and writer of numerous books on film special effects) have come together to analyse Todd Standing’s claimed bigfoot videos. Compiling their observations and reasoning in freely available, illustrated PDF, Falconer and Poling hope this document will of help to readers who wish to critically examine Standing’s videos and draw their own conclusions. Poling and Falconer had never been in contact or worked with each other before, but their conclusions, reached independently and with the benefit of very different backgrounds, were practically identical.

Download the 29 page, 1 MB file here at Cryptomundo!

Read: Critical Examination of Standing/Sylvanic Bigfoot Videos »


Willow Creek Reviewed

Posted by: John Kirk on June 30th, 2014

jkbg

I said I would comment on Bobcat Goldthwait’s excellent (showing my bias already) film Willow Creek.

Horror movies are not my cup of tea generally and I think the last two I saw were Scream-The Original and I Know What You Did Last Summer over a decade ago.

So I went into this wide open to experiencing a little suspense. I got more than I bargained for.

Read: Willow Creek Reviewed »


James Randi: An Honest Liar

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on June 21st, 2014

I read yesterday that there is movie coming out that will no doubt be something many here would like to see. The title is An Honest Liar. The film takes a look at the life and secrets of James Randi the king of debunking. The reviewer of the film, whose article I read, interestingly called Randi a pseudo-skeptic which is something I have never seen anybody do.

Read: James Randi: An Honest Liar »


Where Bigfoot Roamed

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on June 10th, 2014

The New York Times reviews Willow Creek:

‘Willow Creek,’ a Good Old Hunt for Sasquatch

Read: Where Bigfoot Roamed »


The Profound Awfulness of Discovery’s Russian Yeti: The Killer Lives

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on June 2nd, 2014

discovery-yeti

Skeptic Daniel Loxton reviews the program.

Read: The Profound Awfulness of Discovery’s Russian Yeti: The Killer Lives »


The Secret of Blackjack Woods

Posted by: Lyle Blackburn on May 31st, 2014

I don’t often read fiction, but occasionally a book comes across my path that beckons me to put aside scholarly texts and enjoy a good story. Case in point, The Secret of Blackjack Woods, the debut novel by Ashlen Brown. I recently met the Texas-based author at a cryptozoology event where I picked up a copy. Having no prior knowledge of her book, I was initially drawn in by its mysterious title and cover – which seems to hint at a Bigfoot story – and after a brief conversation with Brown I learned that indeed the impetus for her novel had come from an incident in which her mother and sister sighted a mysterious creature near their family home in Texas. This led to speculation that it could have been a Bigfoot which later inspired Brown to write her heart-felt and downright exciting novel.

Read: The Secret of Blackjack Woods »


Caught on Camera: Eerie and Alien Reviewed

Posted by: John Kirk on May 26th, 2014

In December last year, MSNBC came up to Canada to interview me for a program on cryptids which was part of the Caught on Camera series.

We talked for about two hours and much of this was recorded on video.

Finally nearly six months later, the cryptid episode aired.

Read: Caught on Camera: Eerie and Alien Reviewed »



Cryptomundo Merch On Sale Now!

CryptoMerch

Connect with Cryptomundo

Cryptomundo FaceBook Cryptomundo Twitter Cryptomundo Instagram Cryptomundo Pinterest

Advertisers

DFW Nites


Creatureplica Monstro Bizarro Everything Bigfoot



Advertisement




|Top | FarBar|



Attention: This is the end of the usable page!
The images below are preloaded standbys only.
This is helpful to those with slower Internet connections.