Sasquatch Coffee

Archive for the “Reviews”

Searching for Sasquatch in creepy “Willow Creek”

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on November 2nd, 2014

Provocateur Bobcat Goldthwaite has made a low-budget, backwoods horror flick that’s surprisingly engaging and scary as hell.

Read: Searching for Sasquatch in creepy “Willow Creek” »


Troglodyte Gives Exists Two Non-Opposable Thumbs Up!

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on October 30th, 2014

trog

Read: Troglodyte Gives Exists Two Non-Opposable Thumbs Up! »


The Abominable Snowman – Reviewed

Posted by: Nick Redfern on October 23rd, 2014

“From the mid 1950s to the early 1970s, the U.K.’s Hammer Film Productions ruled the roost in the field of cinematic horror. Hammer’s movies were in sharp contrast to the black and white monster productions of the 1930s and 1940s, which starred the likes of Boris Karloff, Bela Lugosi, and Lon Cheney, Jr.”

Read: The Abominable Snowman – Reviewed »


Reviewing the Original Texas Bigfoot Conference

Posted by: Nick Redfern on October 22nd, 2014

“On Friday, September 17, I drove from my Arlington, Texas home to Jefferson, Texas, where I was due to speak the following morning at the Original Texas Bigfoot Conference…”

Read: Reviewing the Original Texas Bigfoot Conference »


Manbeasts Reviewed

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on October 18th, 2014

This book by Adam Davies proves to be a seminal work, dealing with his investigations into Manbeasts across the world.

The chronicle of Davies’ expeditions also includes his searches for the Yeren in China, the Almas, the Abominable Snowman, the Mandi Burung and the Orang Pendek, including a sighting of the latter.

Read: Manbeasts Reviewed »


Exists Reviewed

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on October 10th, 2014

Wherever this resurgence of interest in the Bigfoot legend spawned from, it seems to be working in favor of found-footage horror films. Last year, it was Bobcat Goldthwait’s “Willow Creek”, a suspenseful, surprisingly charming slow-burn that followed a young couple into the titular Pacific Northwest wilderness in hopes of capturing the beast on video.

While of the same genus, Eduardo Sánchez’s “Exists” is a different animal. Revisiting the style that set a precedent for ultra-low budget horror movies at the dawn of new millennium with his minimalist blood-curdler “The Blair Witch Project”, the director aims to leave substantially less to the imagination this time around. And it could be his best flick yet.

Read: Exists Reviewed »


Announcing The International Cryptozoology Museum Journal

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on October 6th, 2014

ICM-Journal-copy

The International Cryptozoology Museum (founded in 2003) is proud to announce the launch of another peer-reviewed journal of cryptozoology. The International Cryptozoology Museum Journal will initially appear in April of 2015.

Read: Announcing The International Cryptozoology Museum Journal »


The Mothman Festival: Reviewed

Posted by: Nick Redfern on September 30th, 2014

“Last weekend I attended, and spoke at, the annual Mothman Festival in Point Pleasant, West Virginia. After no less than a 19-hour drive (with Cryptomundo’s Craig Woolheater), I got into town around 4.00 p.m., Friday afternoon.”

Read: The Mothman Festival: Reviewed »


The Road to Loch Ness Reviewed

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on September 25th, 2014

The last two years have been good for cryptozoology-themed fiction. We’ve had high-octane thrillers like Hawthorne’s Kronos Rising, atmospheric novels like Willis’ The Daedalus and the Deep, chillers like Below, a crypto subplot in a Dan Simmons epic, and the scariest crypto-thriller ever, Joseph Wallace’s superbly researched Endangered Species, just to name a few. The genre has never been healthier, in quantity or quality.

Read: The Road to Loch Ness Reviewed »


Pepie: The Lake Monster of the Mississippi River Reviewed

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on September 13th, 2014

Mention lake monsters and everyone immediately thinks of the Loch Ness Monster, or Nessie, depending on how familiar they are with the creature. However, lake monster stories and folklore can be found on almost every country on the planet, and the U.S. is no different. Here, in our own backyard, a strange creatures is rumored to inhabit the murky depths of Lake Pepin, the widest naturally occurring part of the Mississippi River.

Read: Pepie: The Lake Monster of the Mississippi River Reviewed »


Bigfoot Wars Review

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on September 5th, 2014

The DVD is available at Amazon.com.

Read: Bigfoot Wars Review »


Pepie The Lake Monster

Posted by: Nick Redfern on September 2nd, 2014

“I particularly enjoy books that are regional in nature, as they generally offer deep insight into a case that, without that personal, in-the-field approach, would probably remain buried in obscurity. And, I have to say, the Lewis-Voss book does not disappoint.”

Read: Pepie The Lake Monster »


Kronos Rising Reviewed

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on August 27th, 2014

…Kronos Rising delivers on the fun: it has plenty of plot twists, roller-coaster suspense, colorful characters, and action. On that score, I got my money’s worth.

Read: Kronos Rising Reviewed »


Cliff Barackman Reviews When Roger Met Patty

Posted by: Craig Woolheater on August 24th, 2014

munns

I just finished reading Bill Munn’s excellent book, “When Roger Met Patty.” It decisively proves the Patterson-Gimlin film was not and could not have been a hoax of any kind.

~ Cliff Barackman

Read: Cliff Barackman Reviews When Roger Met Patty »


“Willow Creek” Movie Review

Posted by: Lyle Blackburn on August 13th, 2014

Many folks have asked what I thought about Bobcat Goldthwait’s new Bigfoot movie, WILLOW CREEK. I was lucky enough to attend a screening with Bobcat himself and more recently view a screener of the released film. Rue Morgue magazine has kindly allowed me to reprint my review (which appeared in their July issue) for Cryptomundo.

Read: “Willow Creek” Movie Review »



Cryptomundo Merch On Sale Now!

CryptoMerch

Connect with Cryptomundo

Cryptomundo FaceBook Cryptomundo Twitter Cryptomundo Instagram Cryptomundo Pinterest

Advertisers

DFW Nites


Creatureplica Monstro Bizarro Everything Bigfoot



Advertisement




|Top | FarBar|



Attention: This is the end of the usable page!
The images below are preloaded standbys only.
This is helpful to those with slower Internet connections.